Variegated Slanted Shell Cap

I’m really pleased how this cap turned out, I hope it fits the intended recipient and that she likes it enough to wear it!

For this cap, I used a beautiful variegated yarn from the Wangaratta Mill, which is in Australia. If I had a choice, I would only use locally produced yarn, but of course its amongst the most expensive. Luckily I found this yarn on special! It has flecks of green, purple, pink and blue in it, which is very nice! My guess is this is acrylic, not wool due to the price I got it at, but I might be mistaken as the label did not say.

For this cap I used the 4mm hook and started with 7 rounds of increasing dc. I then tried a new stitch I saw for the first time the other day on youtube called a slanted shell stitch. I had to have a think about how I would do it in a round though. I turned the cap around and went back the other way, starting with 3 sl st before starting the slanted shell pattern. There are 10 rounds of slanted shell in this cap. Finally, I edged it with 5 dc scallops, with a sc in the 3rd dc. This is 24cm along the rim (so 48cm circumference), and its 19cm high.

This cap might be too warm to wear on a hot summer’s day, but hopefully it will make a very pretty autumn cap.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mirelys
    Nov 13, 2012 @ 23:37:46

    Thank you thank you thank you!!!!! I was braking my brain trying to do this stitch in a hat to match the blanket and I was getting frustrated until I found thjs post!!!! Thank you again!!! 😉

    Reply

  2. Teena
    Nov 14, 2012 @ 06:56:18

    I’m glad I was able to help! This is my old blog address, more up to date posts can be found at http://www.flushedwithrosycolour.com
    enjoy! ❤

    Reply

  3. Marina
    Nov 16, 2013 @ 12:46:08

    i wanted to make one of these, but without the double crochets. All the way, from top to bottom in slanted shell stitch, to match a scarf, but i can’t figure out the increases, or where to incriase in such stitch… And the hardest is that i want in in adult size…. soooooooo confused.

    Reply

  4. Teena
    Nov 16, 2013 @ 16:53:00

    Hi Marina, yes I don’t have a pattern for the slanted shell stitch from the top of the hat that would be very hard indeed! This is my old blog address by the way, my new blog is at http://www.flushedwithrosycolour.com, please join me there for the latest on what I’m making! Good luck with your hat!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

